From Others, Just For Fun, Opinion

Five Myths About America’s Decline

Every once in a while, it’s nice to step back and make sure you’re keeping things in perspective. America is still the best place in the world to live. Amurica!

Five myths about America’s decline – The Washington Post.

About Dan S.

Oh me! Oh life! of the questions of these recurring, Of the endless trains of the faithless, of cities fill’d with the foolish, Of myself forever reproaching myself, (for who more foolish than I, and who more faithless?) Of eyes that vainly crave the light, of the objects mean, of the struggle ever renew’d, Of the poor results of all, of the plodding and sordid crowds I see around me, Of the empty and useless years of the rest, with the rest me intertwined, The question, O me! so sad, recurring—What good amid these, O me, O life? Answer. That you are here—that life exists and identity, That the powerful play goes on, and you may contribute a verse.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Five Myths About America’s Decline

  1. First of all, America is nowhere near the best place to live (unless you’re in LA with perfect weather and many a Asian female). Secondly, Ezra Klein can suck a dick. Thirdly, it’s funny that at the end of your about section you say not affiliated with any political group and yet your avatar is the symbol of the democratic party.

    With lots of love, your hubby

    Posted by Ryan G. | May 5, 2012, 1:34 am
    • First, America is the greatest country in the world, which means it’s automatically the best place to live. Have some loyalty, for God’s sake. Second, Ezra Klein has nothing to do with this article, but he is the man none the less. Along with my homeboy, Krugman. Third, I can believe in the views and general platform of the democratic party without my views being affiliated in the legal sense of the term. Don’t try and out lawyer me bro.

      Posted by schochdaddy | May 5, 2012, 11:16 am
      • First greatest in what sense? The human development index ranks Norway as the best place to live. Did you know they measure that? Well they do and we don’t break the top 20. Secondly, Ezra writes for the Wash Post so there is a connection between this article and him, especially this liberal slant. Krugman can also suck a dick. Thirdly basically having that symbol and saying you’re not affiliated is like wearing a cop uniform and when someone asks me to help them I kindly tell them “just because I’m wearing this symbol of the police does not mean I’m affiliated with them.” Out lawyering you is child’s play 😉

        Posted by Ryan G. | May 5, 2012, 5:14 pm
        • First, you are missing the point of the post. I know there are problems with the country. Sometimes it’s nice to see that we don’t suck terribly at everything. Second, just because I write on this blog doesn’t mean my opinions have anything to do with you. Same with Ezra and this post. Also, there is nothing liberal about this post. It’s a list of reasons that we’re doing ok for ourselves. It involves things that liberals would consider achievements, as well as conservatives. That’s why I like the article. Thirdly, I like the dems and I agree with them on a lot of things, but I’ve made it clear to anyone who reads this stuff now or in the future that my opinions are my own, not necessarily theirs. That’s easy to see, but even so, random people associate logos or symbols with themselves all them time, and it doesn’t ever entail that the entity that the symbol actually represents is affiliated with that person. Sporting events, Halloween, even political campaigns. I’m done with this argument.

          Posted by Daniel S. | May 5, 2012, 6:28 pm
          • I thought I’d let you know that I actually love this article, I just like messing with you a whole lot more. Now I won’t argue this anymore even though I have all the time in the world to spin this however I please. But you, sir, need to not fail out of college, so write your damn papers!

            And then maybe you can write a real post on our blog like the smart half of this blog already has 😉

            Posted by Ryan G. | May 5, 2012, 6:36 pm

Be a patriot and add to the discussion below!

The Writers

The Aisle Is On Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to follow The Aisle and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Elections

Election Day 2012November 2nd, 2012
Are you ready to RUMBLLLLLLLE?!
